15 C
London
Monday, 7 June 2021

Fans remind George R.R Martin of his imprisonment promise

Fans of George R.R Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series have reminded him that he once promised them they could imprison him until he completed the sixth novel, Winds of Winter, if he hadn’t released the book by July 2020. The date has come and gone and the sequel from the 71 year old author has yet to materialise. Fans who have been waiting for many years for the sequel are frustrated with the delays. This year the author is making an appearance at the 78th Worldcon after being selected to play the role of Toastmaster.

The author has written in his blog recently that his progress on the novel is going well and that he expects it to be finished by 2021. He has made no mention of his previous promise to arrive at New Zealand’s Worldcon with his completed novel. He promised fans on his blog that if he hadn’t completed the novel by the time of the Worldcon event then they could force him into a small cabin on White Island to finish the novel. The author has become almost as famous for his writers block and writing delays as he is for his Song of Ice and Fire series. The first three books of the series were written in quick succession over the span of four years between 1996 and 2000 with the next books coming five and six years to be released. The seventh book in the series, A Dance with Dragons was released all the way back in 2011 meaning that Winds of Winter will be completed a full ten years after the last book was released. Many fans have openly worried that the author will die before the series is completed given his age.

Victoria Rhodes
Victoria Rhodes
Victoria Rhodes is a local editor based in London, breaking major culture stories and analysing what they mean for the financial sector. Before joining British Journal she worked as an online reporter for The Sun and as a researcher for major news websites online.

Latest news

Fans remind George R.R Martin of his imprisonment promise

Fans of George R.R Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series have reminded him that he once promised them they could imprison him until...

Winston Churchill, the UK’s most significant political figure

Without a doubt one of the best remembered and most significant political figures of the 20th century, Winston Churchill is instantly recognisable and is...

The UK will lead green manufacturing

The Manufacturing Technologies Association says that the UK economy could add between £8-20 billion to the economy if it were to use green manufacturing...

Who does the UK trade with?

The UK’s biggest trading partner Despite Brexit, the EU on the whole remains a key trading partner for the UK. In previous years the EU...

Related news

Fans remind George R.R Martin of his imprisonment promise

Fans of George R.R Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series have reminded him that he once promised them they could imprison him until...

Winston Churchill, the UK’s most significant political figure

Without a doubt one of the best remembered and most significant political figures of the 20th century, Winston Churchill is instantly recognisable and is...

The UK will lead green manufacturing

The Manufacturing Technologies Association says that the UK economy could add between £8-20 billion to the economy if it were to use green manufacturing...

Who does the UK trade with?

The UK’s biggest trading partner Despite Brexit, the EU on the whole remains a key trading partner for the UK. In previous years the EU...